Cricket   |   June 8, 2023

A Guide on Major Cricket Competitions to Wager On

Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa are some of the nations with a huge and popular cricket fan base. Cricket sports might be rare in some parts of the world. However, they are seen as a culture in nations where they are frequently played. Read on as we explore the most popular and major cricket tournaments in the world.

What Are Some of the Major Cricket Competitions to Wager On?

Several major cricket tournaments make it an interesting sport for any fan and an excellent proposition for bettors.

Here are our major cricket competitions you can wager on and worth the value for your money:

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is a popular and prestigious tournament that takes place every four years. The International Cricket Council (ICC) launched the event’s first edition in 1975 in England. A number of 10 participants, which are the men’s national teams, participate in the competition.

However, there will be an increase to 14 participants in 2027.

Australia is the most successful nation in cricket franchise history, with a total of 5 titles. England clinched their first title in the last 2019 World Cup edition. Cricket bettors can enjoy more betting opportunities in the next event, which will soon be held in India from 5th October to 19th December 2023.

Ashes Series

The Ashes Series is England and Australia’s biggest and oldest cricket competition. The first edition of the tournament was in 1882-83 in Australia. The highly anticipated Test cricket series occurs every two years, and the teams take turns hosting the event.

Australia is the current trophy holder and most successful team, with 34 series wins. On the other side, England has 32 series wins. England, having not won the series since 2015, will host the 2023 Ashes Series. The event takes 5 days for each test lasting around a month to provide bookmakers and punters best betting odds and markets. 

ICC Champions Trophy

The International Cricket Council (ICC) founded the ICC Champions Trophy in 1998 (the first edition in Bangladesh). The number of teams that participate in this ODI cricket event is 8. The Champions Trophy takes place every four years again, and we expect the next edition to be held in Pakistan in 2025. 

The current champion of the ICC Champions Trophy is the Pakistan National Cricket Team marking their first title. Australia and India are the most successful nations, with two titles each. Some of the best cricketers feature in this competition, making it competitive in the betting market.

Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League is a popular and professional premier T20 domestic event worldwide. The Board of Control for Cricket in India founded the IPL in 2008 in Churchgate, Mumbai, Maharashtra. The league has a number of 10 participants in each of the ten city-based franchise teams. 

Chennai Super Kings is the current champion, having secured the title for the fifth time in 2023. Mumbai Indians are also as successful as the Chennai Super Kings team, with 5 titles each.

The IPL offers the largest pool prize annually to acquire top talents making it the biggest cricket event. The IPL attracts a massive betting audience by offering them a wide range of betting propositions.  

T20 World Cup

The Cricket organizing body (ICC) launched the T20 World Cup in 2007 in South Africa. The tournament occurs every two years, where 20 teams compete for the trophy. However, the top 12 teams from the previous event will secure a direct qualification, while the remaining 8 will be selected through the Regional Qualifiers. 

England is the current champion, having secured the title for the 2nd time. West Indies and England are the most successful in franchise history, with 2 titles each. The next T20 ICC Men’s World Cup will be held in the United States, West Indies, in June 2024, marking the 9th edition of the competition. 

Where Can I Wager on Cricket?

If you are considering betting on cricket, Dafabet is your platform. Dafabet is a reputable and trustworthy platform that offers relevant certifications, licenses, and user reviews to ensure a secure betting environment. Join Dafabet today to enjoy a range of cricket betting markets, competitive odds & pricing, and exciting promotions.